Animals

Horses, cows, pigs, geese, chickens – all over the museum grounds visitors come across animals. Because the museum not only wants to show how people used to live, but also what they grew in their gardens and fields and which animals belonged to the peasants’ farmsteads. The animal breeds which live in the museum are often threatened with extinction today. The conservation of these historical breeds is important for the museum, so that it is engaged in reverse breeding programs. In the museum you can find the following animals: the Ardennes carthorse, a donkey, the white German Edelziege goat, black-pied cattle from the Lower Rhine, Glan-Donnersberger cattle and the German Weideschwein pig. The Westerwald cow-dog is also at home in the museum, along with several cats. Next to them diverse kinds of poultry bustle about the grounds. In addition to the German Sperber and other chickens, Pomeranian geese and knob geese live in the Groups of Buildings.

Not all the animals you can see here in the museum belonged to every farmstead. The poor farmer living in the mountain regions was often only able to keep one goat, for not everyone could afford a cow. The goat often used to be described as the „little man’s cow". Goats belonged to the smallest farms and were, in the absence of a cow, the only source of milk.


A cow represented a certain luxury. It was rare to have several cows, only in the Lower Rhine were larger herds the rule. Mostly single animals were kept, which had several tasks; they supplied milk and meat and above all were used as working animals. The dung of the animals was used as fertilizer, the hair for upholstery, the hides for leather.

But although cattle were important for daily life, the conditions they were kept in were often catastrophic. The bad geographical conditions – for example in the Eifel – contributed as much to the poverty of the people as the customary division of land under inheritance law. The stables were too small, damp and dark, instead of straw heather or moss was used as litter, for straw was fed to the animals. The areas for pasture were often too small and meagre to find enough grazing to feed them. The animals frequently became so thin due to a lack of fodder during the winter that they collapsed in the stable and had to be turned from side to side at intervals, so that they wouldn’t develop sores from lying - this was known as airing them. In spring they sometimes even had to be carried to the meadow to graze, where they gradually recovered again. Looking after the cattle was mostly a job for the children, or elderly people, although in Westerwald for example, there were also herdsmen who took care of the whole village’s stock of cattle together.

If a family was rather wealthier, they could afford to buy an ox, which could neither give milk, nor was any use for breeding, but was only useful as a working animal. If things went really well for a family, they would be able to purchase a horse; in the border region of the Eifel this was frequently an Ardennes carthorse, in the rest of the Rhineland it was likely to be the Rhenish-Westphalian carthorse.


Poultry was always at home in the farmyards on the land. The Bergisch Kräher (crowing cock) or the German Sperber were common chicken breeds in the Rhineland. But the inhabitants of towns also kept chickens. They did not have enough space for a larger animal, whereas a chicken coop was small and the chickens provided them with eggs and meat. Their feed, consisting of insects, worms, grain and parts of plants, was sought and found in the farmyard by the free-roaming chickens. A couple of geese often belonged to the farmstead. They are not choosy about what they eat and despite this they turn into highly nutritious meat.


Lockers

You can store your luggage in lockers by the entrance and reception desks.

Information about projects, guided tours and courses

All projects, guided tours and courses can be found here. You can also call at kulturinfo and get advice or book: Tel. 02234/9921555, info@kulturinfo-rheinland.de

Kids’ Carts

By the entrance and reception desks you can hire a kids’ cart (Bollerwagen) to pull behind you for a fee of 3 €. During the year the museum offers a series of events and activities especially for children. You can find details about them in the Annual Program.

Walking frames

The Friends of the Museum have purchased walking framesfor the museum, which can be borrowed at the entrance / reception desk.

Lost Property

Lost and found property is kept at the entrance/reception desks. Tel. 02443-9980140

Barrier-free Access

The Open Air Museum is situated on a hilltop and therefore includes gradients of up to 17 % in some places. The footpaths are largely made of cobblestones, as well as water-bound surfaces. Between the individual Groups of Buildings there are benches in the grounds, as well as picnic areas with tables. … more about barrier-free access

Dogs in the Museum

Naturally, your dog is allowed to come into the museum with you. But please keep the dog on a short leash (reel-leashes must be locked) while observing the usual legal regulations. Unfortu-nately, dogs are not allowed into the houses and exhibition halls.

Photography

You will encounter subjects for photographic and video recordings all over the grounds. Natural-ly, you are welcome to photograph or film them, but only for private purposes to remember your visit. The commercial use or publication of such images is not permitted. For further in-formation check out Photography in the Museum.

Tiere

Weideschwein

Pferde, Kühe, Schweine, Gänse, Hühner – überall im Museumsgelände laufen den Besuchern Tiere über den Weg. Denn das Museum will nicht nur zeigen, wie die Menschen früher gewohnt und gelebt haben, sondern auch was sie in den Gärten und Feldern angebaut haben und welche Tiere zum bäuerlichen Hof dazu gehörten. Die Tierrassen, die im Museum leben, sind heute oft vom Aussterben bedroht. Die Erhaltung dieser historischen Rassen ist für das Museum wichtig, sodass es sich in Rückzüchtungsprogrammen engagiert. Im Museum kann man folgende Tiere finden: Das Ardenner Kaltblut-Pferd, einen Esel, die Weiße Deutsche Edelziege, das Niederrheinische Schwarzbunte Rind, das Glan-Donnersberger Rind und das Deutsche Weideschwein. Auch einige Katzen sidn im Museum zu Hause. Daneben tummelt sich diverses Geflügel auf dem Gelände. Neben dem deutschen Sperber und anderen Hühnern leben Pommerngänse und Höckergänse in den Baugruppen.

Nicht alle Tiere, die Sie hier im Museum sehen können, gehörten zu jedem Hof dazu. Der arme Bauer in den Bergregionen konnte sich oft nur eine Ziege halten, denn nicht jeder konnte sich eine Kuh leisten. Die Ziege wurde früher oft als „Kuh des kleinen Mannes" bezeichnet. Ziegen gehörten zum bäuerlichen Kleinstbetrieb und waren, wenn keine Kuh vorhanden war, die einzigen Milchlieferanten.


Kuh Marie kuschelt mit ihrem Jungen

Eine Kuh bedeutete schon gewissen Luxus. Mehrere Kühe waren selten, lediglich am Niederrhein waren größere Herden die Regel. Zumeist wurden einzelne Tiere gehalten, die mehrere Aufgaben hatten: Sie lieferten Milch und Fleisch und wurden vor allem als Arbeitstiere eingesetzt. Der Mist der Tiere wurde als Dung gebraucht, die Haare zum Polstern, die Häute für Leder.

Doch obwohl die Rinder für das tägliche Leben wichtig waren, waren die Haltungsbedingungen oft katastrophal. Die schlechten geografischen Bedingungen beispielsweise in der Eifel trugen ebenso wie gängige Realteilung des Erbes zur Armut der Menschen bei. Die Ställe waren zu klein, feucht und dunkel, als Streu wurde Heide oder Moos benutzt, Stroh wurde verfüttert. Die Weideflächen waren häufig zu klein und karg, um die nötige Futtermenge zu gewinnen. Die Tiere magerten aufgrund von Futtermangel über den Winter oftmals so sehr ab, dass sie im Stall zusammenbrachen und ab und zu von einer Seite auf die anderen gedreht werden mussten, damit sie sich nicht wund lagen – das nannte man Lüften. Im Frühjahr mussten sie teils sogar auf die Weide getragen werden, wo sie sich nach und nach wieder erholten. Das Viehhüten war zumeist die Arbeit der Kinder oder älteren Leute, im Westerwald beispielsweise gab es jedoch auch Hirten, die den Dorfbestand an Vieh gemeinsam hüteten.

War eine Familie etwas wohlhabender leistete sie sich einen Ochsen, der ja weder Milch geben konnte noch für Nachwuchs sorgte, sondern nur als Arbeitstier eingesetzt wurde. Ging es der Familie wirklich gut, konnten sie sich ein Pferd kaufen: In der Eifeler Grenzregion häufig Ardenner-Kaltblutpferde, im Rest des Rheinlandes das Rheinisch-Westfälische Kaltblutpferd.


Hühner auf dem Misthaufen

Geflügel war auf den Höfen auf dem Land immer zu Hause. Der Bergische Kräher oder der Deutsche Sperber waren gängige Hühnerrassen im Rheinland. Aber auch die Einwohner der Städte hatten Hühner. Für ein größeres Tier reichte der Platz nicht, doch ein Hühnerstall war klein und die Hühner lieferten Eier und Fleisch. Ihr Futter, bestehend aus Insekten, Würmern, Körnern und Pflanzenteilen, suchen sich die freilaufenden Hühner auf dem Hof. Auch ein paar Gänse gehörten oft zu den Bauernhöfen. Sie sind bei ihrer Nahrung nicht anspruchsvoll und wandeln diese dann trotzdem in hochwertiges Fleisch um.


Häufige Fragen

Schließfächer

Gepäck können Sie in Schließfächern an der Kassenanlage aufbewahren.

Informationen über Projekte, Führungen und Kurse

Alle Projekte, Führungen und Kurse finden Sie hier. Sie können auch bei kulturinfo rheinland anrufen und sich beraten lassen oder buchen: Tel. 02234 / 9921555, info@kulturinfo-rheinland.de

Bollerwagen

Am Kassenbereich können Bollerwagen gegen eine Gebühr von 3 € ausgeliehen werden. Das Museum bietet über das Jahr verteilt eine Reihe an Veranstaltungen und Aktionen für Kinder an. Details hierzu finden Sie im Jahresprogramm.

Rollatoren

Der Förderverein hat für das Museum Rollatoren angeschafft, die an der Kasse ausgeliehen werden können.

Fundsachen

Fundsachen werden an der Kasse aufbewahrt. Tel. 02443-9980140

Barrierefreiheit

Das Freilichtmuseum liegt auf einer Kuppe und verfügt daher über einige Steigungen von teilweise bis zu 17 %. Die Wege bestehen zu einem großen Teil aus Kopfsteinpflaster sowie aus wassergebundener Decke. Auf dem Gelände befinden sich zwischen den einzelnen Baugruppen Sitzbänke und Picknickplätze mit Tischen. Detailliete Informationen zur Barrierefreiheit

Hunde im Museum

Ihr Hund darf natürlich mit ins Museum kommen. Aber bitte nur an der kurzen Leine (Rollleinen müssen arretiert werden) unter Beachtung der gesetzlichen Bestimmungen. In die Häuser und Ausstellungshallen kann er leider nicht rein.

Fotografieren

Überall werden Ihnen Motive für Foto- und Videoaufnahmen begegnen. Gerne dürfen Sie natürlich fotografieren oder filmen, aber nur zu privaten Zwecken für Ihre Erinnerungen. Eine öffentliche oder kommerzielle Nutzung ist nicht gestattet. Nähere Informationen finden Sie unter Fotografieren im Museum.